Hermann J. Heege


Department of Agricultural Systems Engineering
University of Kiel
24098 Kiel, Germany
Tel.: 0431-8801545
Fax: 0431-8804283
Email: hheege@ilv.uni-kiel.de


1931: on a farm in Flechum, Emsland, Germany


  • 1959: Dipl. Ing. agr., University of Bonn, Germany
  • 1960: Master of Science (Agricultural Engineering), University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
  • 1963: Dr. agr., University of Bonn, Germany
  • 1967: venia legendi (Agricultural Engineering), University of Bonn, Germany


  • 1961 - 1962: Research fellow, Michigan State University, East Lansing, USA
  • 1962 - 1964: Research fellow, Federal Agricultural Research Center, Braunschweig-Voelkenrode, Germany
  • 1964 - 1970: Research fellow, University of Bonn, Germany
  • 1970 - 1981: Professor, University of Bonn, Germany
  • 1981 - 1997: Chair, Director and Professor in Agricultural Systems Engineering, University of Kiel, Germany
  • since 1997: Professor Emeritus in the Department of Agricultural Systems Engineering, University of Kiel, Germany

Professional functions

  • 1992 - 1996: Chairman of the German Professors in Agricultural Engineering within the Committee " Research and University Education" of the Max Eyth Gesellschaft im Verein Deutscher Ingenieure (MEG/VDI)
  • 1995 - 2005: Chairman of the Bundesverband der D?ngermischer, Bad Oeynhausen, Germany
  • 1996 - 2006: Chairman of the European Association of Fertilizer Blenders (EFBA), Parthenay, France

Publications and distinctions

About 290 publications on various subjects in agricultural systems engineering. The latest book deals with "Precision in Crop Farming" and was published in 2013. It is available online under http://www.springer.com/de/book/9789400767591 or http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-94-007-6760-7.

Fellow of the International Commission of Agricultural Engineering (CIGR), 2000

Carl - Heinrich - Dencker Badge of Honour awarded in 2004 at the University of Bonn in Germany

Member of the International Academy of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (IAABE), 2015